Franklin Synod

Cumberland Presbyterian Church

1829 - 1839

Minutes Needed !!!

Please contact the archives if you have any copies or know where any are located.

1829 - Formed in reorganization of Cumberland Synod to form the General Assembly
Nashville, Lebanon, Knoxville, and Hopewell Presbyteries

1832 - Western District Synod formed from
Hopewell, Hatchie, and Forked Deer Presbyteries

1838 - Middle Tennessee Synod formed from
Nashville, Lebanon, and Chapman Presbyteries

1839 - Dissolved. Presbyteries divided between Middle Tennessee and Columbia Synods
Knoxville and Hiwassee Presbyteries to Middle Tennessee Synod
Jackson Presbytery to Columbia Synod


No minutes in archives

October 20-22, 1830 - Gallatin, Tennessee
Moderator - Rev. Richard Beard
Clerk - John L. Smith
[Abstract of minutes in the Religious and Literary Intelligencer, 9 December 1830, page 1]

21 October 1831 - Lebanon, Tennessee


Please Send Additions/Corrections to the Archives

Updated 8 October 2019