Middle Tennessee Synod

Cumberland Presbyterian Church

1838 - 1888

Minutes Needed!!

Please contact the archives if you have any copies or know where any are located.

1838 - Formed from Franklin Synod
Nashville, Lebanon, and Chapman Presbyteries

1843 - East Tennessee Synod formed from
Hiwassee, Ocoee, and Knoxville Presbyteries

1848 - Cumberland Synod formed from
Nashville, Hodge, and Charlotte Presbyteries

1852 - Cumberland Synod dissolved; presbyteries added to Middle Tennessee Synod

1888 - Consolidation of East Tennessee, Columbia, West Tennessee, and Middle Tennessee Synods, taking name Tennessee Synod


No Minutes in Archives

"Resolved, That a new Synod be and it is hereby stricken off the Franklin Synod, to be composed of the Nashville, Lebanon and Chapman Presbyteries, to be called the Middle Tennessee Synod, and that said Synod meet in Cairo, Sumner county, Tennessee, on the second Thursday in November next, and that Brother Thomas Calhoun be the first Moderator, and in case of his absence, Brother James Smith."
[Source: General Assembly Minutes of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, 1838]


November 4, 1853
Charlotte, Tennessee
[source: announcement in The Banner of Peace and Cumberland Presbyterian Advocate, March 4, 1853, page 3]


Please Send Additions/Corrections to the Archives

Updated January 12, 2015