Hopewell Presbytery

Cumberland Presbyterian Church

1825 - 1988

October 22, 1824
Resolved, That the part of Nashville Presbytery which lies west of the Tennessee river, is hereby stricken off, and the Rev. Messrs. William Barnett, Samuel Harris, John C. Smith, and Richard Beard, compose a Presbytery in said bounds, to be known as the Hopewell Presbytery, to be constituted at Bethel meeting-house, in Carroll county, and State of Tennessee, on the third Tuesday in April, 1825, William Barnett, Moderator, or, in case of his absence, Samuel Harris.

[Source: Minutes of Cumberland Synod, October 22, 1824]


Please Send Additions/Corrections to the Archives

Updated April 7, 2008