Ewing Presbytery

Cumberland Presbyterian Church

1851 - 1897

1851 - Organized by Arkansas Synod, which was formed out of that part of Arkansas Presbytery lying outside Washington, Crawford, Sebastian, Scott, and Franklin counties. Churches had been organized in Johnson and Pope counties, and these became a part of Ewing Presbytery, which held its first meeting at Oak Grove meetinghouse in Johnson County, March, 1852.

1898 - Dissolved. Its territory divided between John Buchanan and the newly created Fort Smith Presbytery.

Please Send Additions/Corrections to the Archives

Updated November 13, 2012