Arkansas Presbytery

Cumberland Presbyterian Church

1824 - 1907

October 24, 1823
Arkansas Presbytery stricken off from McGee Presbytery by Cumberland Synod.

Resolved that a presbytery be stricken off from the McGee presbytery, including the Arkansas territory, consisting of the following members: (viz) Rev. Messrs. John Carnahan, William C. Long and Robert Sloan of the McGee presbytery, and William Henry of the Anderson presbytery; to be known by the name of the Arkansas presbytery. To meet at John Craig's, Independence county, Arkansas territory on the fourth Thursday in May 1824; and that William Henry be the first moderator, and in case of his absence, John Carnahan.

[Source: Minutes of Cumberland Synod, October 24, 1823]


Please Send Additions/Corrections to the Archives

Updated May 26, 2005