Medina Cumberland Presbyterian Church

Medina, Gibson County, Tennessee

West Tennessee Presbytery

Synod of Great Rivers

Medina Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Cumberland & King Sts.
c/o 509 Cumberland Street
Medina, TN 38355



On September 9, 1883, a group of forty devout Cumberland Presbyterians banded together to form a new congregation —
the Medina Cumberland Presbyterian Church. The Reverend J.D. Lewis, pastor of Mount Moriah Church, met with Medina
as the organizing pastor; and that day A.M. House, C.A. Hudson, and C.M. Merwin were elected Elders with S.T. Barnett
being elected Deacon. About a month later, the Session employed Rev. Lewis to the pulpit once a month (at night) until more
permanent arrangements could be made. Meeting at first in a small frame building, the ambitious congregation soon began
making plans for building a house of worship. In June, 1884, a one acre lot was purchased and a frame church was erected
and dedicated to the Lord on the first Sunday in December, 1885. In 1923, the congregation discussed a new church building.
However, it was decided to remodel and brick the original building. Through the years other remodeling has been done and
additions have been added as needed.



LE FastCounter